The many meanings of “soma”, Part I

Upon performing a Google definition search of the word “soma” today, I was blown away by the turn-out. Believe it or not, these four simple letters cover everything from hallucinoges to a Strokes song (and a good one at that). But one of my favourite Soma references is perhaps the closest to home. Or more accurately, closest to work.

Yes, you’ve guessed it: Soma Chocolatemakers. Famous for their Spicy Mayan Hot Chocolate (on display as “Drink of the Gods”), this place is conveniently right down the street from my work this summer. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

Gaargh chocolate.

soma omg

55 Mill Street
Toronto, ON M5A 3C4
(416) 815-7662
6 thoughts on “The many meanings of “soma”, Part I

  1. I meant to visit SOMA…long ago, when I was showing relatives Toronto! Have you tried the ‘drink of Gods’? Is it heavenly?

    • Ah we should definitely go sometime!! Actually, I haven’t tried the drink of the gods, because I’ve only gone there in summer — so I go for their dark chocolate gelato instead 😉

  2. Mmm they had the spicy hot chocolate FO FREE at International Week when there were the free dance lessons going on. It was pretty freaking awesome…but also spicy. I feel like you should also drink a glass of milk alongside it, to cut both the richness and spiciness – it’s almost like a dessert in and out of itself.

Leave a Reply

